Rhyming Prompt #1 – A Classic

L is for the way you look at me
O is for the only one I see
V is very, very extraordinary
E is even more than anyone that you adore

And LOVE is all that I can give to you
LOVE is more than just a game for two
Two in LOVE can make it
Take my heart and please don’t break it
LOVE was made for me and you

Great song, great rhyme. What more could you ask for? A first weekly rhyming prompt, that’s what!

As some of you know, I finished my Project 365 with an acrostic poem (where the first letters of the lines spelled out “Epic Rhyme Time”). L-O-V-E is basically the same deal, with the added trick of using the four-letter word in a second set!

THE PROMPT

Find a four-letter word (choosing one that’s pronounced as a single syllable works best — Need inspiration? Click here!) and write a four-line acrostic poem. You don’t have to use the same rhyme pattern as L-O-V-E, but bonus points if you can! Next, use your four-letter word (or its plural, if that helps) in at least three lines of a five-line AABBA rhyme.

When you’re done and happy with the result, post away! Be sure to link back to this post, so everyone can enjoy your rhyme!


SAMPLE RHYME – (G)NAT KING COLE

Gee, this itch is gonna drive me mad
No mistake, it’s never been this bad

Argh! My skin’s on fire; I just might expire
Take your bio fad; I’d rather use a scouring pad

Those gnats, come summer time, unleash fresh hell
Gnats, my body’s common clientele
Grrrr! I hate those stingers!
Squash them all, those left-/right-wingers!
Gnats, I’ll spray ’em all to hell!

Leave a Reply

