10 questions for (aspiring) authors

1) What is the working title of your book?

Aetheria – part I. I know. I can make up a whole world, but I can’t come up with a working title. I do change the name of my Word file every time I finish a chapter, though. That must count for something!

2) Where did the idea for your book come from?

I honestly can’t remember. Sad, isn’t it? I can tell you it evolved from a whole series of smaller stories I was working on at the time (the time being 4.5 years ago – Yikes!), but that’s about it.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

Fantasy/Sci-fi.

4) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

First of all, bear in mind I’m writing a Dutch novel, in case any of the names sound outlandish. Off the top of my head:
– Klaus Chappa (main character): Asa Butterfield (he’ll be about the right age once this thing is made into a movie :-p)
– Boris Ibycus (diplomat with a lovely sense of humour and a taste for all things tasty): Stephen Fry
– Philander Tick (high-strung yet lovable diplomat-in-training, who becomes Klaus’s best friend): Freddie Highmore/Liam Aiken maybe?
– Torsten “The Wolf” Heksekoster (steampunk soldier type): Jamie Campbell-Bower (he’d have to dye his hair black, though)
– Queen Tessalia III: Tilda Swinton or Cate Blanchett

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

One day, 17-year-old Klaus Chappa is struck by lightning, dies and ends up in a world called Aetheria, which is about to write the darkest pages in its history.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Time will tell.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

So far (13 out of 17 chapters): 4.5 years, though I should point out I have a full-time job and am renovating a house on my own as well, which has left relatively little time for writing…

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

No idea.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I’d been wanting to write a novel for a long time, but I suppose Harry Potter drew me in indefinitely.

10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

If you look hard enough, every name in the book has a hidden meaning.

2 thoughts on “10 questions for (aspiring) authors

Leave a Reply

